Unni Pulliainen (Helsingin yliopisto), winner of the AllGenetics-EMPSEB Award 2018

«Brood recognition in ants» has been selected as the best talk presented at the EMPSEB24 in Bubión (Granada).

This year’s European Meeting of PhD Students in Evolutionary Biology (EMPSEB24) was held in the picturesque village of Bubión, in Granada, Spain. This meeting, that takes place every year in a different European country, brings together some of the best PhD students in Evolutionary Biology from all over Europe and gives them the chance to present their work to other PhD students working in the same field. It offers a unique setting for PhD students to discuss their work with their colleagues in a very relaxed and friendly environment.

Since 2012, the meeting has been sponsored by AllGenetics by offering, among other things, the AllGenetics-EMPSEB Award to the PhD student giving the best talk, as judged by the senior invited speakers.

The award consists of a one-week vacation in Ortigueira, a beautiful town in Galicia’s countryside (NW Spain), where the awardee and up to five friends are invited to enjoy Galician nature, its atmosphere, and gastronomy at The Farm Cottage, in the unique environment that Ortegal county has to offer.

This year’s talk, presented by Unni Puliainen, was considered to be the best among all of the first-rate presentations that we had the pleasure to attend.

Unni is a PhD student at the Helsingin yliopisto, under the supervision of professor Liselotte Sundström. Her research focuses on eusocial insects and how they recognise their own kin, in order to direct altruistic acts only to the right individuals and, thus, gain indirect fitness benefits.

AllGenetics would like to congratulate Unni on her outstanding work, and we hope she enjoys her well-deserved prize.

Previous winners of the AllGenetics-EMPSEB Award were:

  • Mareike Wurdack (Universität Freiburg) in 2012.
  • Pepijn Kamminga (Universiteit Leiden) in 2013.
  • Margo Maex (Vrije universiteit Brussel) in 2014.
  • John Bruce (University of Oxford) in 2015.
  • Amy Eacock (University of Liverpool) in 2016.
  • Sebastiano de Bona (Jyväskylän yliopisto) in 2017.